York University programming

York University programming

York University is pleased to offer a suite of institution programming in partnership with research hubs in the humanities, arts and social sciences, our local surrounding communities, and alumni. This exciting range of events reflects a deepened understanding of the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals and showcases York’s strengths in interdisciplinary research, community engagement, and the arts. By positioning community art, activism and knowledges as central to the work of the humanities and social sciences, this programming seeks to bridge the gap between the university and wider society. Specifically, this programming recognizes York’s location in the Jane and Finch community, one of the most visibly racialized communities in the City of Toronto with a high proportion of youth, and refugee and immigrant families.

Programming will be featured under two overarching themes: Arts@Congress and Community Engagement and Connections. The events listed below highlight some of the programming currently in development with more details to be announced in the coming weeks.

Arts@Congress

  • An Arts@Congress showcase with exhibitions and performances by York students and faculty in disciplines across the arts, culture and design, including events curated through The School of the Arts, Media, Performance and Design’s Year of the Arts program.
  • Pop-up performances throughout Congress, which may include performances by York Dance Ensemble, York Jazz Ensemble, and York University Gospel Choir, as well as Indigenous and African drumming. 
  • Evening outdoor film festival featuring popular films.
  • Screening of Indigenous films.
  • Art walks around the public art sculptures at York’s campuses with augmented reality

Community engagement and connections

  • Community Mural—in collaboration with artists from the Jane Finch community. 
  • Poetry/Spoken Word competition engaging Congress theme, “Reckonings and Re-Imaginings.”
  • High school student engagement—students in the Jane and Finch corridor attend select Big Thinking Lectures and a private debrief and Q&A.
  • Sensory and themed walks—Indigenous walking tours, Black Creek and Jane Finch walks, and architecture walks.  
  • Interdisciplinary panels of Indigenous and Black scholars, artists and activists on community-engaged research, anti-Indigenous and anti-Black racism, and new futures.

More information coming soon. 

Organized by:

Federation HSS logo  

In partnership with:

York University logo

Programmation de l’Université York

Programmation de l’Université York

L’Université York est heureuse d’offrir une série de programmes institutionnels en partenariat avec les centres de recherche en sciences humaines, en arts et en sciences sociales, nos collectivités locales environnantes et les anciens élèves. Cette série d’événements passionnants reflète une compréhension approfondie des objectifs de développement durable des Nations Unies et met en valeur les forces de York en matière de recherche interdisciplinaire, d’engagement communautaire et d’arts. En plaçant l’art, l’activisme et les connaissances de la collectivité au cœur du travail des sciences humaines, cette programmation cherche à combler le fossé entre l’université et la société en général. Plus précisément, cette programmation reconnaît l’emplacement de York dans la collectivité Jane et Finch, l’une des collectivités les plus visiblement racisées de la ville de Toronto, avec une forte proportion de jeunes, de réfugié. e. s et de familles immigrantes.

La programmation s’articulera autour de deux thèmes principaux : Arts@Congress et engagement et connexions communautaires. Les événements énumérés ci-dessous mettent en évidence une partie de la programmation en cours d’élaboration. De plus amples détails seront annoncés dans les semaines à venir.

Arts@Congress

  • Arts@Congress présente des expositions et des spectacles d’étudiant.e.s et de professeur.e.s de York dans des disciplines des arts, de la culture et de la conception, y compris des événements organisés dans le cadre du programme de l'école des arts, des médias, de la performance et du design.
  • Des spectacles ponctuels tout au long du Congrès, qui peuvent inclure des représentations du York Dance Ensemble, du York Jazz Ensemble et du York University Gospel Choir, ainsi que des percussions autochtones et africaines. 
  • Festival de films en plein air en soirée mettant en vedette des films populaires.
  • Des projections de films autochtones.
  • Des promenades artistiques autour des sculptures d’art public des campus York avec des points d’accès en réalité augmentée.

Engagement et connexions communautaires

  • Projet de film communautaire – Projet d’archives cinématographiques avec des jeunes de la collectivité.
  • Murale communautaire – en collaboration avec des artistes de la collectivité de Jane et Finch.
  • Concours de poésie/parole prononcée portant sur le thème du Congrès, Confronter le passé, réimaginer l’avenir.
  • Engagement des élèves du secondaire – les élèves du corridor Jane et Finch assistent à certaines causeries de la série Voir grand, à un compte rendu et une séance de questions-réponses en privé.
  • Visites sensorielles et thématiques – visites autochtones, promenades à Black Creek et Jane Finch, et visites architecturales.  
  • Des panels interdisciplinaires d’universitaires, d’artistes et de militant.e.s autochtones et noir.e.s sur la recherche communautaire, le racisme anti-autochtone et anti-noir.e.s et les nouveaux avenirs. 

Plus d'informations à venir.

Organisé par :

Logo de la Fédération SH

En partenariat avec :

York University logo